Geographic Origins

The Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria is in north-western Africa. It is bordered by Mauritania, the Western Sahara and Morocco to the west, the Mediterranean Sea to the north, Tunisia and Libya to the east and Niger and Malawi to the south.

History of Immigration and Settlement

African and Asian Algerians have immigrated to Australia since 1973, when the 1901 Immigration Restriction Act, better known as the White Australia Policy, was abolished. Algeria was granted independence from French colonial rule in 1962 and since this time the country has experienced many years of instability of government and economy.

Since the 1990s a small but steady stream of Algerians has migrated to Australia primarily to escape fighting between their repressive government and Islamic rebels.

For details about Algerian community activities and organisations consult the African entry.


Algerians were first listed as a separate category in Australian census data in 1991.

According to the 1996 census there were 60 Algerian-born South Australians. Eighty-three people said their mothers were born in Algeria, 89 that their fathers were.

The 2001 census recorded 58 Algerian-born South Australians, while 26 people said that they were of Algerian descent.

The 2006 census recorded 59 Algerian-born South Australians, while 31 people said that they were of Algerian descent.

The 2011 census recorded 63 Algerian-born South Australians, while 32 people said that they were of Algerian descent.

The 2016 census recorded 65 Algerian-born South Australians, while 70 people said that they were of Algerian descent.

By Migration Museum

This article is part of the From Many Places project documenting the diverse cultural groups in South Australia. It is a project started by the Migration Museum in 1992 and continued in partnership today. 

Add media
Courtesy of/Photographer:Bit Scribbly Design

Migration Museum

Add story